Manager second in LMA award

Last updated : 13 May 2003 By Planet Imp
Wrexham's Denis Smith took the main third division award after steering the Red Dragon's straight back to the second divison, but coming second is now mean feat.

He has brought in a lot of inexperienced players from non-league and turned them into a side who has a great chance of reaching the play-off final at the Millennium Stadium if they can defend their two goal advantage against Lincoln rivals Scunthorpe United tomorrow.

Alexander said: "It is always pleasing to get an honour but you haven't got a team without players.

"As I said to the lads this morning, that honour is down to them. Although I signed the players, they have to go ot and perform and they've done that."

Everton manager David Moyes was named Premiership manager of the season, Portsmouth boss Harry Redknapp took the first division award, and Wigan's Paul Jewell too the honour in the second division.